Digi Speak De-mystified

Whether you are just dipping your toe in the world of digital marketing, or are by now a seasoned professional, you are probably aware that it is a world dominated by specialised terms, funky acronyms and plenty of marketing jargon.

That is why we have created this glossary of some of the most common digital marketing terms, with jargon-free explanations. Getting on familiar terms with these will help you better navigate the world of online marketing, understand us (and our future blog posts) better and ultimately help you get more out of your marketing efforts for your business.

ANALYTICS  (or Web Analytics Tool)

Data and statistics about the users of a website and how they interact with the website. This is collected using Web Analytics Tools, and can be used to find out how many people browse a website, how much time they spend on it, and the specific actions they take while on it.

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This information can be used to understand consumer behaviour, who users are (to target them), improve their onsite experience and optimise advertising campaigns.


A method used to compare different versions of digital ads or website landing pages to determine which one performs better. For example, you may run two different ads simultaneously and then measure which one gets a better response from the audience.


Derived from the print advertising industry, this term refers to the area of a web page that is visible before the website visitors scrolls down the page. It varies depending on the visitor’s screen size and resolution.


A bounce is when a website visitor looks at only the single page they originally landed on, does not interact with it, and then leaves the site.

The bounce rate expresses such visits as a percentage of the total visitor sessions, within a specific time frame.


A phrases us marketers include within an ad, or a graphic element such as a button, which invites the audience to take a certain action, such as “Click to Read More”, “Buy Online” or “Subscribe to our Email Newsletter”.


This refers to the number of times people click on an item of interest, like an advert, in comparison to the number of times users are exposed to that item.

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Digital material available to users, such as text, images, video, audio and so on.


Text in an advertisement. The text produced is a form of content, but the act of producing it is copywriting.


On a website landing page or digital advertisement, there is a specific action (through your CTA), or set of actions, you want the audience to take. Each time a member of audience takes this action, it is counted as a conversion.


This is the ratio of conversions to visits and is used to measure digital performance.

For example, if 150 people visited your website landing page and 5 of them took the action to email you, your conversion rate would be 3.3%.


This is the process of trying to improve your conversion rate. This can be achieved a number of ways, such as improved CTA’s and better content.


This is how much an advertiser pays, on average, for each time a user clicks on their digital ad. If your CPC is $0.10 and your ad gets 100 clicks, then you will have paid a total of $10 for that ad.


The cost of acquiring one customer. The CPA is generally calculated by dividing the total amount spent on an advertising campaign by the number of customers acquired by that campaign. So if you spent $5,000 launching a new brand of clothing in your ecommerce store, and you got 200 sales out of it, your CPA would be $25.


This is a digital advertising format where graphic ads (or banner ads) are shown on a web page. Display ads can be graphics, videos, interactive images and expandable. The most common sizes for display ads are: 728x90 (Banner); 336x280 (Rectangle); 160x600 (Skyscraper) and 250x250 (Square).


The sale of products and services online.


Hypertext Markup Language. HTML is a language used by web developers to create websites.


This refers to the number of times and advert is displayed online.


This is a word or phrase that advertisers choose to trigger and include their ad within search engine results. The advertiser chooses keywords that relate to their business or specific advert so that their ad will show up within the pages that are returned for that specific keyword.

For example, a hairdresser in Brisbane may choose the keyword phrase “hair salon Brisbane” to target for their ads.


These are results in a search engine that are not paid adverts.


These are the results in a search engine that an advertiser pays for.


PPC is a pricing model where advertisers pay based on the number of clicks their ads or campaigns received.


This refers to your listings position on the search engine results page. You want to aim to be on the first page of results, and preferably within the top 3 spots.


This is how much money you are making from your marketing investment. Following on from the example for CPA. If you spent $5000 on your marketing campaign but made $6,500 in sales, your ROI would be 30%.

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SEO is the practice of making changes to web pages, content and the promotion of content to improve the visibility of the website on (unpaid) search engine results.


SEM is a form of advertising that allows you to bid for your advertisement to show on the search results page for specific keywords that users are typing in.


This is the list of results in a search engine shown in response to a user's search query. For example, a user searching for “hair salons in Brisbane” will be shown a SERP of listings related to their query.


A session is a group of interactions that take place on your website within a given time frame.


This refers to a single visitor to a website during a specific period of time.

If all of these industry terms and acronyms have left you feeling overwhelmed by the world of digital marketing, never fear - that’s why we are here. You don’t need to take up any more brain space with digi speak, just let us remember it all for you. Little Bird Online Marketing is ready to be your partner in marketing today - just get in touch or book your free consultation and we can bust some jargon, create some marketing magic and get this show on the road!